Chapter’s Salad

This is one of my all time favourite salads. When I was growing up we used to go to a fancy restaurant for special occasions and they have a salad called Chapters Salad and Sopaipillas served with honey butter (My mouth is watering). Every time I go back to Kamloops i visit that restaurant. My Mom got the recipe from the owners years ago:

Chapters Salad

Romaine and Baby Spinach topped with Toasted Almond Slices and Shredded Monterey Jack Cheese, Drizzled with a Creamy Dill Dressing

Dressing:

1 cup sour cream – not the light stuff
1/4 cup milk – supposed to be buttermilk but I like it with regular
1-2 teaspoons (or to taste) of Uncle Dan’s California Dill salad dressing (in the packet)
Mix all of the above well.

The good thing is that this dressing keeps well in your fridge for the same length of time as the sour creams expiry date so you can always have it on hand. I sware – try this once and you will be hooked – right Jen?

Did you play??

4 Responses to Chapter’s Salad

  1. island jen says:

    This Salad is AWESOME, i could easily eat this exclusively for a meal… maybe throw a little chicken on it… and it would be a meal for me. I love this!!!

  2. island jen says:

    Oh ya, and what the hell is a sopaipilla???

  3. Linda Hale says:

    Am looking for information on Uncle Dan’s California Dill Dip. Used to get it in Northern British Columbia. I am in Michigan now, in the Thumb Area. Zip code 48759 It is about 25miles N. of Bay City Mi. Who make the dip? I need information. thank you

  4. Suzanne says:

    Uncle Dan’s is the brand name. It’s in the Salad dressing isle in packets.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

