Grandma’s Banana Bread

Wow, this recipe is so good. It is so easy and it never fails! I use this recipe at least 3-4 times a year. The only thing I don’t add is the nuts because I personally don’t like nuts in my banana bread, but others say it is great that way too. The banana bread always turns out crispy on the outside and moist on the inside. I love it with a little butter. Enjoy!

Grandma’s Banana Bread
Doubles easily for 2 loaves

1 cup white sugar
2 eggs
1/2 cup sour milk (add 1 tsp vinegar if you don’t have sour milk)
1 tsp baking soda – dissolve in the milk
1/2 cup shortening (crisco)
2 cups flour
2 mashed bananas

Cream sugar and shortening together well. Beat in the eggs. Add mashed bananas. Blend in flour alternating with the milk/soda mixture. Start with flour and end with flour. Add the nuts.

Bake in greased loaf pan – 350 F for about 1 hour

6 Responses to Grandma’s Banana Bread

  1. islandarts says:

    I don’t suppose you can spare a slice for a neighbor whose down on her ‘baking luck’??? LOL!
    That looks bloody deelish! Great shots too Suz.

  2. islandarts says:

    WOW.
    That chunk of banana bread had to have been the best BB I’ve EVER had. Seriously. I nearly ate the entire chunk.

    Okay I did eat the entire chunk.

  3. JustaGirl says:

    It looks soooo freaking good!
    I am going to make that this week (maybe tomorrow)… I’ll let you know how it turns out.

    Remember my Almond Rocca episode? Could be interesting! LOL

  4. Alicat says:

    YUM. very simple recipe which is what I love and it looks fab. šŸ™‚

  5. A Kept Woman says:

    Banana bread is also GREAT with a schmear of cream cheese! If you like cream cheese, of course. šŸ™‚

  6. Karmyn R says:

    Okay – this is sinfull, but add a cup of chocolate chips – put it in your freezer and you have a quick and easy Desert anytime anyone comes over unannounced!

Leave a Reply

