Potluck Pasta Salad

I love this cookbook. I’ve blogged about it before, I think on my old blog, but tonight I tried a new recipe from it. This book is for those who are intimidated in the kitchen and at the same time great for the experienced cook as there are tonnes of tasty recipes to chew on! We are having a Salad Day at work tomorrow so what better salad could be served?
I made the Potluck Pasta Salad. It has less than 220 calories per 1 cup serving and has a lot of necessary protein to for you vegans out there!
Here’s the recipe (doubles well):
Serves 8
Dressing:
2 tbsp red wine vinegar
1 tbsp fresh lemon juice
1 tbsp Dijon mustard (I used hot)
2 tsp Worcestershire Sauce
1 tsp granulated sugar
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp fresh ground pepper
2 cloves garlic, chopped
1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
2 tbsp minced parsley
2 tbsp fresh basil (I used a lot)

Salad:

3 cups dry fusilli (or any small pasta)
1.5 cups cooked kidney beans (rinse if using canned)
1.5 cups cooked chickpeas (rinse of using canned)
1 cup diced yellow bell pepper, diced
1/2 cup sliced black olives
3 large plum tomatoes (any ripe ones will be fine) diced and seeded
1/2 red onion diced
salt and fresh ground pepper

Step 1 – put all dressing items in a food processor except oil. Process until smooth. Add in basil and slowly add oil through the feed tube (don’t over process). Set the dressing aside.
Step 2 – Cook the pasta in a large pot of salted boiling water until al dente ( about 8 minutes) Rinse under cold running water and drain well. Toss in the dressing, chickpeas and kidney beans. Add the yellow peppers, tomatoes, olives and onions, mix well. Chill and add salt and pepper to taste.
It seems like a lot of work and a lot of ingredients but you will probably have the majority of them on hand, if you don’t it is easily modified. ENJOY!

4 Responses to Potluck Pasta Salad

  1. Alicat says:

    Yum! I love the addition of red onions and tomatoes. 🙂

  2. islandarts says:

    It is absolutely wicked and all the basil was not overlooked by my tongue. YUMMMMM. Thanks for the large bowl Suz, it will be enjoyed today!

  3. islandarts says:

    I know I said I couldn’t eat that much salad… But I did!!
    I need more salad!

  4. Ju says:

    Love this blog!!! I am always looking for new things to cook. Will be checking back often!

Leave a Reply

