Soup of my Dreams

My Aunt made this soup for us a few years ago and it has been a hit with my family ever since. I could probably eat this soup for the rest of my life. This soup is so easy to make – as are most soups, but I really like this one for its fresh flavour. The last time I made it I put in waaay too many limes (I actually cut them up and cooked them in the soup) not a good idea, the soup will end up being bitter. I can’t belive how hard it is to take a photo of a bowl of soup! this was the best one of about 20. So here it is!

CHICKEN LIME SOUP

Combine the following, bring to a boil and simmer on low-med for an hour
6 cups chicken broth (I used 2 – 900ml tetra packs)
1 onion cut into quarters
1 cup fresh parsley
1/2 tbsp thyme
2 chicken breasts cubed
2 celery stalks – chopped (leave in big chunks)
2 tbsp salt (I leave this out because the broth has enough)

Next: (the tedious part)
Remove the chicken pieces. Strain the broth and discard the veggies.

In another pan saute in 2 tbsp oil:
1 chopped green pepper
1 chopped onion

Add to the strained broth:
2 tomatos chopped
2 tbsp fresh parsley chopped
the cooked chicked
Juice of 2 fresh limes
1/2 tbsp pepper
Sauteed onions and green peppers

Simmer for another 20 minutes. You can add lime slices when ready to serve (may be too much lime though) Serve over crunched tortilla chips. ENJOY!

5 Responses to Soup of my Dreams

  1. islandarts says:

    I’d like to give this recipe another taste. The ‘bitter batch’ was OK but a little limey for my taste.

  2. Suzanne says:

    Funny you say that! we ate all of it yesterday. Yes, we made enough to last for a week, but it was soo good this time we coulnd’t resist. I’ll make it again very soon 🙂

  3. JustaGirl says:

    It does sound yummy!!! I would try it, but I think I’ll just wait till I come and visit 🙂

  4. Pamela Lynn ~ flutterby7 says:

    That sounds delicious. I bet that would be great/easy for feeding a large group.
    TTFN
    Pamela Lynn

  5. Kim from Hiraeth says:

    I just discovered your blog through Blogging Chicks–Hello!

    This looks fantastic! I have a Thai Chicken Soup that has lime added right before serving and it is such a fragrant, delicious soup. I’m going to try yours–it looks fabulous–just the kind of soup I like!

Leave a Reply

